buy percocet 2014 Illinois General Election: Final Overview « ACOFP – IL


2014 Illinois General Election: Final Overview

Legislative Update
Betsy D. Mitchell, MPA
ACOFP-Illinois Legislative Consultant

U.S. Senate

U.S. Senator Richard Durbin (D) won easily over Illinois State Senator Jim Oberweis, but with Republicans taking the majority, he will no longer be the Senate Majority Whip.

U.S. House of Representatives

The Illinois Congressional Delegation gained two Republican seats with Robert Dold (R) defeating Democratic incumbent Brad Schneider (D) in the 10th Congressional District. In the 12th Congressional District (Southern Illinois), Mike Bost (R) defeated incumbent Bill Enyart (D). Formerly, Bost was a State Representative in the Illinois House. In January, the composition of the Illinois delegation will be comprised of 10 Democrats and eight Republicans.

Governor and Constitutional Officers

Republican Bruce Rauner won the Illinois Gubernatorial race by defeating Governor Pat Quinn. Rauner has set up his transition team and is expected to announce new agency directors soon.

Incumbents Attorney General Lisa Madigan (D), Secretary of State Jesse White (D) and Comptroller Judy Baar Topinka (R) all won re-election. After 10 days, the race for State Treasurer was finally decided in favor of Senator Mike Frerichs over Rep. Tom Cross. There is no word yet on who will replace Frerichs (D, Champaign) as Senator.

Illinois State Senate:

In the Senate, 19 of the 59 seats were up for election and only 7 of the 19 seats were contested in the General Election. The Republicans gained one seat in the Illinois Senate with the defeat of Senator Mike Jacobs (D-36, East Moline) by Neil Anderson a firefighter and paramedic in the Moline Fire Department. Anderson will join Senator Chris Nybo (R-24, Elmhurst) who was appointed to replace Senator Kirk Dillard (R) as the two newly elected faces in the Senate.   This means the Senate Democratic caucus will be reduced from 40 to 39 seats, however they will still have a veto proof majority.

Illinois State House:

All 118 House seats were up for election and 70 seats had no opposition (42 Democratic and 28 Republican).   Out of the 48 contested races,no Democratic incumbents lost their seat. There will be 20 “new faces” elected to serve in the House in the 99th General Assembly.

Anyone wishing to see a list of the winners, may contact Betsy Mitchell: or 217-493-2474.

Veto Session

Good News. The Illinois Medical Practice Act was approved by the Illinois House of Representatives during the first week of Veto Session. It is expected to be approved by the Illinois Senate during the second week of Veto Session (December 2, 3, 4, 2014). If approved by the Governor after it passes, the Act will only be extended for another year.

Looking Ahead: 2015 Spring Session

The Ninety-ninth General Assembly will be sworn into office on January 14, 2015. This will mark the first year of a two year General Assembly session.

Several scope of practice issues are anticipated. The Advanced Practice Nurses Act sunsets on December 31, 2015 so it will be on the agenda next year. All indications are that they will seek independent practice. The PTs are expected to try again as well.

In addition, we expect to see legislation that would further involve physicians in the issue of gun control and who can carry guns based upon their mental health and capabilities.

Comments are closed.